The first official release as James Hickey has finally arrived. The 8 track album is a blues-infused documentation of the last few years of hanging out in dive bars and looking for love in all the wrong places. It includes the single 'Last Sucker in Town' released in 2016 and a live recording of 'Bad Moon Rising', lifted from the performance with Pearl Tassell at the Garden of Unearthly Delights (2017). 

The album has Craig Kelly on double bass, Benjamin John Lindsay on drums, Kat Phyn on backing vocals, Oscar E Villagrana on trumpet and Adelaide's prodigal son, Adrian Whitehead on keys. Recorded at Crosstown Studios, Preston, Victoria under Josh Whitehead's steady hand and mastered at Mixmaster Studios in Adelaide by Mick Wordley.

In full support will be two fantastic musical acts. Matthew Robert Arnaudon and Evan Buckley

Evan Buckley (The Burley Griffin) grew up in Canberra, homeschooled in a religious fundamentalist cult, and has since hitch hiked and toured through 37 American states, exorcising and befriending his demons along the way.

His most recent US tour took place during the 2016 election and his newest songs reflect the absurdity of the American dream.
With two records, and now a third on the way, The Burley Griffin has seen Evan's songs accompanied and interpreted by some of both Australia's and the USA's most intuitive musicians.
"A refreshingly different release, The Burley Griffin's new EP features songs that are generally short, sharp and leave you wanting more." - Paul Gough, The Inside Sleeve

Need to sell tickets, or take event registrations?

Smith's Alternative
Contact information